Travel Diaries: Los Angeles Part I

I woke up super early the day I headed to L.A. to allow me time to get some food for the coach, as I was going to be on it for around 8-10 hours. I had been warned that there was going to be a heatwave in L.A., reaching up to 40 degrees celsius, which struck fear into my English heart and potential skin damage into my alabaster skin. My prayers that I would have two seats to myself were ruined within about 3 minutes of being on the coach, but it wasn’t too bad. On the coach I listened to some music and wrote out some lyrics, which I would have no idea how to put to music, but I quite enjoy doing it.

When I arrived in L.A I had to work out how to get to my apartment, which was harder than anticipated. After paying to get on a bus that went the complete wrong way (which I discovered by watching the blue dot on Google maps drift towards the abyss) and then have to get off after one stop, I decided to walk part of it. Bad idea. It seemed to be quite a rough area of Los Angeles, where the streets were lined with tents for the homeless. It was really hard to watch people asleep on the concrete, their feet swollen and clothes worn. I had most of my possessions on my back and so I didn’t feel entirely safe in this fairly rundown area and had a manic internal monologue of just keep walking. Los Angeles seemed to be a city of duality. It’s said to be the city of dreams, where the superstars live and where people go to pursue their dreams, but to me it didn’t seem like a very forgiving city. It seemed as though people were treated disposably. I found it quite a confronting situation, as you feel terrible for feeling unsafe. You almost feel part of the problem, scurrying through these neighbourhoods.

My apartment was lovely and I was completely ready to get to bed when I arrived, as the journey had completely drained me.

On my first full day in L.A., the original plan on my Excel Spreadsheet (…I know) had been to hike to the Hollywood sign, but the temperature was due to reach 37 degrees so I changed the plan a little. I discovered that getting around in L.A. isn’t the easiest thing as it is so huge, so you definitely can’t walk it like a lot of the other cities I had visited. Google Maps told me it took almost two hours to get to Santa Monica on the bus from Hollywood, so walking was definitely out of the question. I worked out which bus I needed to get to West Hollywood (where the best shopping was) and do some gift shopping for people back home. West Hollywood had more of a relaxed, neighbourhood vibe than Hollywood, which seemed a little seedier. I got some lunch afterwards, but to be honest it was just nice to get out of the heat. I thought I had a big appetite, but after a few weird looks after rejecting countless sides with my meals, I realised it was no match for America.

Whilst walking towards Beverly Hills in the sweltering heat, I realised I really am not cut out for California living. Sorry Katy Perry, the grass may be greener, but no one can look fine, fresh *and* fierce in this heat. I walked towards Century City Westfield for more shopping and ended up leaving with half of the makeup in the shop. A few more buses and I was at Santa Monica beach, where I walked the pier. I didn’t really feel I could fully enjoy it as I was so hot and bothered, but it was nice to see the beachfront.

I felt as though in just one day I had seen so many different places in one city, that all had completely different vibes. Whilst I ate my dinner, I thought about how even if new places don’t always completely click with you, they do inspire something, even if it’s a slight change in attitude or perspective. To clarify, I didn’t dislike L.A. and I can imagine if you’re in the right area, it can be a cool place to live. Your instagram would be fire, that’s for sure. To me it seemed strange that real people’s lives happened here, but again, that’s probably because it’s a lifestyle so far removed from what I’m used to.

Becoming a bit of a L.A. public transport maverick, I made my way back to my apartment. I was asked my favourite movie by a random high guy on the metro and after responding with ‘well, The Shawshank Redemption is pretty good’, he said he’d never heard of it. I’m going to put that down to the fact he was higher than the celebrity’s mansions in the Hollywood hills, but who hasn’t heard of that film?

It was such a relief to be back at the apartment after a full day of enduring the heat. Part II coming soon…

Leave a comment